All about messages


General features 

Direct messages
Talkify chat enables you to start and respond to personal 1:1 and group personal conversations to communicate with others. Similar to text messaging, after a chat is started, participants cannot be removed from or added to the conversation. To add others to a conversation, create a new chat and add all of the contacts you want to chat with. There is no limit to the number of contacts that can be added to a new group chat.

Chat Typing Indications
When someone begins typing during a personal 1:1 or group chat, the app provides a visual indication to other chat participants that this person is typing. This chat typing indication appears every 10 seconds while the typing continues. If typing is stopped for more than 10 seconds, the indication no longer appears.

Chat Message History
The Messages screen displays a list of the individual and group contacts with whom you have chatted. Each item in the list also indicates the relative age of the last chat message that was sent to or received from that contact.

Tapping an item in the list opens the chat screen for that individual or group contact displaying messages from previous conversations including the relative age and time of day for each. When viewing a group chat, the names of the first few participants are displayed at the top of the chat screen. Tapping those names displays a list of all participants for that group chat.

Placing a Call While Chatting
When you’re in a direct chat, just tap the phone icon in the top-right corner of the chat screen to call that person.

Send a Photo While Chatting
When you're chatting, you have the option to send text or send a photo. On first attempt the application will ask for permission to the camera and/or photo library, these permissions are required for the app to work as intended.

 

Direct vs Streams 

The fundamental difference between these two is that in Steams users can be added and removed at any time. Think of Direct as more private conversations and Streams as more public. 

 

Business 

If your company has created SMS flows to allow your customers to reach out directly and you've been assigned as a person to deal with these messages then you will see a 'Business' tab inside of Messages.

SMS messages are like streams in that several employees may be able to respond to the message making sure that your responses don't overlap and the customer gets the answer they need.

Keep in mind that the customer or client on the other end will only see responses as coming from the business and will not know which specific user had responded.

 

Social - Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. 

Much like the Business tab, if you've been assigned to a flow to deal with social media messages, a 'Social' tab will show for you. Again, much like SMS, the end customer/client will not know which specific user had responded, just that the company has responded to them.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful